Aggressive Night Of Racing May 24 At Clinton County Motor Speedway

Lock Haven, PA- The best word to describe May 24 racing action at Clinton County Motor Speedway was aggressive. Perhaps too aggressive. Drivers beat, banged, rubbed and, became upset in some divisions of action. A number of red flag and, numerous caution periods resulted.

Jim Yoder of Selinsgrove scored his second Smith Excavating & Construction limited late model win of the season. Kevin Probst finished second with Matt Cochran third. Luke Hoffner and Joe Lusk completed the top five. Sixth thru ninth were Mike Smith, Gary Mellott, JR Toner and Joe Loffredo. Lusk and, Yoder won qualifiers. Tim Luben didn’t start the main event. Half of the field were involved in collisions which began on the initial start. Lusk was involved at least two times.

The Weaver’s Radiator & Auto Repair/Jay Coder Excavating 270 micro sprints began the night with 21 scheduled starters. Nine completed the fifteen lap feature. Tom Quiggle from Mill Hall flipped on lap six of the main event. John Roberts and Ivan Johnson flipped in turn four on lap ten. Both initially appeared ok.

Jeff Weaver of Lock Haven won the 270 main aboard the Weaver’s Radiator and Auto Repair no. 92. Denny Rinehimer finished second. Bobby Sanso was third followed by Troy Whitesel and Ethan Spotts. The remainder of the top ten were Shaun Musser, Skeetz Hockenbrock, Dan Wertman, Mitchel Holden and, John Hand. Weaver, Whitesel and, Spotts won heat races.

The Millers Automotive Machine Shop pro stocks ran two feature events. A.Y. Schilling of Middleburg won the May 17 make up feature over Ray Rothfuss. Kevin VanAmburg came home third with Brad Myers fourth. Robert Tressler was fifth.Rounding out the top ten were Robert Tressler, Nathan Stroup, Chris Snyder, Tom Dawson and, Rich Fye, who was a DNF victim. Schilling led every lap. Caution periods on laps five and nine sent Fye, Tressler, Rothfuss and Stroup to the pit area. Only Fye failed to complete the full fifteen laps. Eleven cars started the event.

In the pro stock night cap, Rothfuss of Clarkstown won the feature over Noah Jensen. Myers finished third with VanAmburg fourth. Dawson was fifth. Sixth through ninth were Tressler, Snyder, Fye and, Schilling. Bradley Benton was tenth despite being a DNF victim.
Rothfuss and VanAmburg claimed heat wins. Myers led laps one thru twelve before giving way to Rothfuss.

The 600 micro sprints fared better than others. Garrett Bard of Wells Tannery dominated action first by winning his heat race. Bard started from the outside of row one and led every lap. The Spar Engines/Lias Tire sponsored entry covered 15 laps in 5:09.914 seconds to score the win.Finishing second was Jeff Weaver with Josh Beamer third. Jeff Guyina and Bobby Sanso completed the top five. Sixth through ninth were Dariek Humenay, John Bower, Jay Codder and, Jomarie Gagne. Derek Swartz, a DNF victim was scored tenth completing only two laps. Weaver and Bard won qualifiers.

The TJ Shooters Sports Bar FWD 4 cylinder stock cars finished the night with one more round of slam bang action. Tim Campbell of Danville drove the TJ Shooters/Campbell Race Technology no. 2T into the lead from his outside pole starting position. Once in front Campbell was not challenged and went on to score the win over Tim Raup. Youngster Kolton Wagner, son of super late model driver Waylon Wagner, drove from sixth starting spot to finish third. Eric Luzier and John Bower rounded out the top five. The remainder of the field were Cody Stover, Maddox Smith, Daniel Mordan, Dan Auman, Adam Campbell and, Wayne Truitt. Heats went to Adam and Tim Campbell.

The nights racing was completed by 10:40 PM.

Action continues next Friday night with the Nittanty 40 for limited late models. The race is a time trial event with no entry fee. The winning driver earns $ 2,500. Taking the green flag is worth $ 200. Total LLM purse is $ 10,725.00. Also in action are the Gary’s Motor Mart/Laurel Highlands/IMCA sprint cars, Weaver’s Radiator & Auto Repair/Jay Coder Excavating & Trucking 270 micro sprints and, 600 micro sprints. Gates open at 5 PM with warm-ups planned for 7. The first green flag of the night is at 7:30. General admission is as follows: Adults, $15. Students 12-17, $10. Under 12 free. Pit admission is $ 35.

Nittany 40 presenter TC Transport is one of central PA’s most reliable and, safe common carriers of bulk supplies for business, municipalities and industries that need raw materials to keep their projects moving. The company is family-owned and operated and prides itself on getting vital materials from points A to B safely, on time at a good price. The company transports landscape and construction supplies, glass industry supplies, municipal/road management supplies, grain, plastics and, flatbed materials. TC Transport’s fleet of trucks include dump trucks, vans, flat bed and, tri-axle vehicles. All dispatching is done in house. The company maintains their own service and, repair facility. Their dedicated staff guarantees prompt delivery of product. TC Transport’s service area includes PA, Ohio, New York, Maryland, Delaware and, New Jersey. Their office is located at 121 Musser Lane Bellefonte, PA 16823.Office hours are Monday-Friday 8:00 am-noon and 1:00 pm until 5. Contact them at (814)-355-0564. The company’s web-site is

Management announces a schedule change for the June 7 racing program. Twin features were planned for the 600 micro sprints. Instead the 270 & 600 micro sprints will both be in action with one feature each for both divisions. The main event is the Mason Dixon late model series. FWD 4 cylinder stock cars will also be in action.

Make plans to be part of these exciting events. Updates are available regularly through the speedway’s Facebook page, news media and Race day telephone number is (570)-971-2126.