Saturday night January 20th CCMS speedway held there second annual banquet under the direction of promoters Sam Ray and Wayne Cochran.   Awards where handed out to the top ten in the six divisions that run the speedway on a regular bases, with the top five in the super late model class getting awards also.  The event for the second year in a row was held at the Red Eye Center with a buffet style meal, with a sound system and video highlights being part of the program.  Mike Smith of Renova, PA, won his first ever CCMS track title, winning it in the Limited late model class.  Mike did not win a feature last season, but his consistent finishes lead him to the title by three points over JR Toner.  Mike commented, “It was a great season for me and my team, but I have to start getting the wins, and that will be the goal for the 2018 season to get wins, and go for another championships”.  Kyle Ganoe of Thompsontown, PA, was crowned the IMCA/PASS 305 sprint champ, scoring two feature wins during the season. Kyle stated, “We had a good season, but on the last point night I thought were going to lose it.  We had some magneto problems, but just did enough to get the title”.  Kyle did that by eight points over Ken Duke.  AY Schilling of Linden, PA, had a solid season collecting four feature wins on his was to the Pro-Stock title.  In the ten races ran, Schilling had nine top five finishes which was a big help in leading him to the title.  AY said, “We will be back doing the same thing this year, and are hoping to be able to win races and get another title”.  The FWD-Four-Cylinders title went to Ryan Miller of Howard, PA, who also scored his first ever track title in racing.  Ryan only collected one feature win, but had eleven top ten runs in the twelve races the divisions ran during the season.  Ryan comment, “I have to thank all that helped me, it was a special year to get a championship.  Next year, we might run some of the bigger Four-Cylinder races to see how we stack up, and will try and race as much as we can at CCMS also”.   The super late models only got two races in, with Dylan Yoder of Middleburg, PA, getting a fifth and fourth place finishes, which was enough to get four more points then his father Jim to getting the championship.  Dylan said, “I really enjoy racing at CCMS, we had a good season overall expect for a number of mechanical issues, but we were fast all season, this year I hope we can finish more races and get more wins”.   Jeff Weaver, of Mill Hall, PA, picked up titles in both the 270 and 600 Micro-Spring classes winning five features in the 270’s and one feature win with the 600.  Jeff’s “deal” is a family operation, and he wanted thank his family for the chance to race.  “I have to thank my Mom&Dad for helping me do this I could not do it without them.   We plan on doing the same thing this year, racing both micro classes, and we might get to race a 305 sprint car also this year sometimes”, remarked Jeff.
Some special awards were also handed out with Kevin Probst, named Rookie of the year in the Limited late model class, Dakota Schweikart who was named to the same award in the IMCA/PASS 305 sprints.  Drivers receiving “Most Improved Driver” in their divisions went to Bobby Sanso 270 micro-sprints, Ryan Miller FWD four-cylinders, Tommy Dawson Pro Stocks.  One other special award went to both Sam Ray and Wayne Cochran, receiving jackets from GFY racing for the hard work and their dedication to the Clinton County Motor Speedway.
The speedway announced an opening date of Friday night, April 27, 2018. They also have planned for another four races series for the super late model class, and a special championship event for the Pro-Stock class.  The Patriot sprints 360 class will race at the speedway on Friday night June 15th.  The rest of the tracks schedule will be announced at a later date.  Check up with the latest news from CCMS on the web site at or “like” the speedway on Facebook.