Clinton County Motor Speedway Full Of Action Friday May 17

Lock Haven, PA- The sixth try was the charm. With a season scheduled to begin April 12, Clinton County Motor Speedway finally got a night of racing completed. Almost. The pro stock feature was lost to curfew and will be made up next week, May 24 as the first event on the program. Racers and fans should note the change in starting time. Warm-ups begin at 6:45 pm with the left over pro stock feature set to begin at 7:15.

What a night of racing it was. A smooth tacky racetrack with multiple grooves had drivers moving all over the speedway. Action was everywhere. Red flag stops were needed in the Smith Excavating & Construction limited late model/Lenny Stroud Jr Memorial race as the top three cars crashed out during the white flag lap on the backstretch. Those drivers misfortune turned into Jim Yoder’s good luck as he took over the lead and withstood a one lap dash to the checkered flag. The S & R Towing & Recovery driver from Selinsgrove was followed to the checkered flag by Clinton Hersh, Kevin Probst, Mike Smith and, Drew Weisser. Sixth thru eighth were Devin Frey, Tim Luben and Gary Mellott. The remainder of the 21 car starting field, except 12th place finisher Joe Loffredo, were in the pit area. Devin Hart and Joe Lusk were scored ninth and tenth.

Matt Cochran grabbed the early race lead from third starting spot holding it thru lap four when pole setter Joe Lusk took the lead. Devin Hart moved into the third spot after starting sixth.Caution and a red flag stopped the event after a heavy crash in turn one involving Joe Loffredo and Len Stroud Sr driving the well known pink lady no 18L racer. Lofffredo completed the event down two laps. Cochran went pit side leaving Lusk, Hart and, JR Toner at the front of the field. Hart took over second spot on lap eight and moved by Lusk for the lead during lap ten. Lusk regained the top spot one lap later staying there until lap nine when Hart returned to the lead. Jim Yoder drove into third spot on lap twelve chasing Hart and Lusk through lap 22. The top four cars encountered heavy lapped traffic dicing there way through the field to settle the win. Hart went out front on lap thirteen and appeared strong enough to win. Disaster struck on lap 24, in turn two, when the leaders encountered a spun lapped car directly in front of them. Hart, Lusk and Toner were all involved in the crash. Hart attempted to push through to no avail. Only Yoder was able to get by allowing the Selinsgrove veteran to score his first win of the season. Heat races were won by Hart, Lusk and Toner.

The Gary’s Motor Mart/Laurel Highlands IMCA sprint cars, 20 strong, found a new first time winner as Jared Zionkawski of Wyalusing, PA scored his first career sprint car win. Zionkawski led all 20 laps withstanding several cuation periods along the way. Scott Lutz moved by Kyle Ganoe on lap twelve to finish second. Jacob Gamola was third with Ganoe fourth. John Walp was fifth. Completing the top ten were Ken Duke, Dale Schweikart, Ray Sheetz, Dave Guss and Fred Arnold. Zionkawski, Ganoe and Walp won heat races.

Jeff Weaver of Lock Haven won both the Weaver’s Excavating & Construction 270 and 600 micro sprint features. Weaver was chased to the checkerd flag during 270 action by Ethan Spotts, Mason Peters, Denny Rinehimer, Troy Whitesel, Quinn Roberts, Kyle Stahl, Timmy Bitner and Ryan McAndrew. Spotts, Mason Peters, Nick Whitesle and Gary Keister won qualifiers. There were 25 cars.

In 600 action Weaver was followed by Garrett Bard, Josh Beamer, Lance Spotts, Bobby Sanso, Derek Swartz, and Dariek Humenay. Kyle Knopp and Tyson Mowery were not able to finish the feature. There were nine cars. Weaver led all laps in both the 270 and 600 main events.

The Millers Automotive Machine Shop pro stocks feature will be the first thing on the Friday May 24 racing program after being postponed due to curfew. Ingram Fuels heat race winners were AY Schilling and Ray Rothfuss.

The TJ Shooters Sports Bar FWD 4 cyl. stock cars join the limited late models, pro stock and 270 & 600 micro sprints May for spring championship night 24. All are again reminded gates open at 5, warm-ups at 6:45 and racing at 7:15.

There’s no increase in admission for this program. General admission is $12, students 12-17, $10, under 12 free. Pit admission is 30.

Clinton County Motor Speedway is conviently located off I-80, exit 178, Lock Haven/Mackeyville, PA. Race day phone number is (570)-971-2126. Social media updates are found at and Facebook.

Race Results-

Weavers Radiator & Auto Repair/Jay Coder Excavating & Trucking 270 Micro Sprints-25 Entries-15 Laps

1. Jeff Weaver, 2. Ethan Spotts, 3. Mason Peters, 4. Denny Rinehimer, 5. Troy Whitesel, 6. Quinn Roberts, 7. Kyle Stahl, 8. Timmy Bitner, 9. Skeetz Hockenbrock, 10. Ryan McAndrew, 11. Shaun Musser, 12. Logan Hammaker, 13. Kyler Stahl, 14. Dan Wertman, 15. Travis Welch, 16. Mather Dixson, 17. Tom Quiggle, 18.Hunter Zimmerman. DNF- Gary Keister, John Roberts, Bryan Strouse, Nick Whitesel, Buddy Kramer. DNS- Jerrod Heil

Heat Race Winners- Ethan Spotts, Mason Peters, Nick Whitesel, Gary Keister.

Lap Leader- Jeff Weaver, 1-15.

Smith Excavating & Construction Limited Late Models-21 Entries-25 Laps

1. Jim Yoder, 2. Clinton Hersh, 3. Kevin Probst, 4. Mike Smith, 5. Drew Weisser, 6. Devin Frey, 7. Tim Luben, 8. Gary Mellott. DNF- Devin Hart, Joe Lusk, JR Toner, Joe Loffredo, Luke Hoffner, Darren Lucas, Dylan Yoder, John Myers, Jamin Chapman, Andrew Yoder, Bryan Benton, Len Stroud, Sr, Matt Cochran

Heat Race Winners- Devin Hart, Joe Lusk, Jim Yoder.

Lap Leaders- Matt Cochran, 1-4, Joe Lusk, 5-12, Devin Hart, 13-24, Jim Yoder, 25

Gary’s Motor Mart/Laurel Highlands IMCA Sprint Cars-20 Entries-20 Laps

1. Jared Zionkawski, 2. Scott Lutz, 3. Jacob Gamola, 4. Kyle Ganoe, 5. John Walp, 6. Ken Duke, 7. Dale Schweikart, 8. Ray Sheetz, 9. Dave Guss, 10. Fred Arnold, 11. Neil Petock, 12. Reed Thompson. DNF- Jeffrey Weaver, 14. Dakota, ( 1 lap down), DNF- Ryan Lynn, Randy Sterling, Cowboy Jim Kennedy, Dylan Proctor. DNS- Josh Spicer, Tylor Cochran.

Heat Race Winners, Jared Zionkawski, Kyle Ganoe, John Walp

Lap Leader- Zionkawski, 1-20

600 Micro Sprint Feature-9 Entries-15 Laps

1. Jeff Weaver, 2. Garrett Bard, 3. Josh Beamer, 4. Lance Spotts, 5. Bobby Sanso, 6. Derek Swartz, 7. Dariek Humanay. DNF- Kyle Knopp, Tyson Mowery

Heat Race Winners, Jeff Weaver, Garrett Bard

Lap Leader- Jeff Weaver, 1-15.

Millers Automotive Machine Shop Pro Stock Division-13 Entries- Feature Postponed Due To Curfew- Make Up May 24 First Event Of The Night- 7:15pm.

Ingram Fuels Of Lamar, PA Heat Race Winners- AY Schilling, Ray Rothfuss