Matt Cochran Beats Field July 27 At Clinton County Motor Speedway!

Lock Haven, PA- Matt Cochran added his name to the Smith’s Excavating & Construction limited late model winners list Friday July 26 at Clinton County Motor Speedway. Cochran, of Williamsport, PA, drove the Cochran Automotive & Towing no.16 out front on lap five and, withstood all challengers to score a popular win. Jim Yoder of Selinsgrove, and others, gave it their all through lapped traffic but couldn’t complete a pass. Cochran was assisted by a clean track several times as young Joe Loffredo of Avis spun his racer three different times. The last spin sent Loffredo to the pit area and set up a green/checkered flag finish. Cochran moved out to a .0662 second advantage at the finish line. Finishing second was Yoder with Andrew Yoder third. Dylan Yoder came home fourth and Danny Snyder, making his first CCMS start of the season, was fifth. Completing the top ten were early race leader Tim Krape, Mike Smith, Devin Hart, Joe Lusk and, Kevin Probst. Heat races were won by Andrew Yoder and Hart.

Cochran commented on his victory, which included a trophy, as summer champion. ” We’ve been so close the last couple years and couldn’t get it done. We just kept finishing second, we took a stab at it tonight and threw something at it (the car) and, it actually worked.”, said Cochran. ” You’re not going to see any better racing than here every week.”, Cohran added, ” Everybody is so competitive up here, it takes a lot to get a win.”, Cochran added.

Ken Duke Jr., returned to winning form as he scored his third Gary’s Motor Mart/Laurel Highlands/IMCA sprint car win of the season at the fairgrounds oval. Lock Haven’s Dylan Proctor started second and, quickly jumped into the lead followed by John Walp, Ian Cumens and Duke. Dave Guss brought out the caution on lap one and was done for the night. Upon restarting, Proctor maintained his lead until lap 22 when Duke drove his Fairfield Chevrolet/Sprint Car Unlimited no. 67 to the front. Caution flags on lap six, 17 and 18 bunched the field but each time Proctor pulled away. Duke moved into the third spot on lap seven and, seemed destined to finish third as Proctor and John Walp raced side by side through lapped traffic. Duke attempted to enter the battle and, came up short before getting by Walp on lap 15. Duke’s winning pass was on lap 21. Duke diiscussed his victory during the post race interview. ” What a race, that was fun.”, began Duke. ” The 92 and the five were racing hard for the win. I decided to throw my hat in the ring and, it was incredible. The track was fun. It was multi grooved and allowed cars to run side by side and, you could do it without getting into any wrecks. It’s pretty awesome.”, Duke concluded.
Duke finally took the lead on lap 22 and, withstood the final caution flag for a one lap dash to the summer championship trophy. Proctor settled for second with Jake Frye third. Scott Ellerman was fourth with Scott Lutz fifth. Sixth through tenth were Reed Thompson, Dakota Schweikart, Jeff Weaver, Dale Schweikart and, Tyler Cochran. Heat races were won by Ian Cumens and Lutz.

Jeff Weaver scored his third 600 micro sprint win of the season, destroying the field in the process. Weaver’s margin of victory was 2.209 seconds over second place finisher Bobby Sanso. Cody Hauck was third with Jeff Gyurina fourth. Jomarie Gagne finished fifth. The remainder of the top ten included Derek Swartz, Dariek Humenay, Corey Brungard, Dan Trippoli and Don Werner. Weaver and, Josh Beamer won heat races.

Richfield’s AJ Stroup won his first Millers Automotive Machine pro stock feature of the year, out running second place finisher Ray Rothfuss by 1.326 seconds at the finish. Stroup started on the pole and withstood all challengers plus three caution periods to claim the win. Finishing third was Noah Jensen with Robert Tressler fourth. Kevin VanAmburg was fifth. Competing the top nine were John Zayjac, Nathan Stroup, Chris Snyder and, John Schoch, Credited with tenth place was Rich Fye who along with the rest of the field failed to finish the event. Heat races were won by Brad Myers and Jensen.

Eric Boozel of Mt. Union won the 12 lap TJ Shooters Sports Bar FWD 4 cylinder stock car feature over Adam Campbell. Mike Campbell was third with Tim Raup fourth. Cody Stover finished fifth. Sixth through tenth were Charlie Stallman, Matt Feagley, Mike Brouse, Tim Campbell and, Maddox Smith. Boozel lead every lap. Heat races were won by Boozel and Mike Campbell.

Action resumes Wednesday night July 31st as the Weaver’s Radiator & Auto Sales/Jay Coder Excavating & Trucking 270 micro sprints are joined by their 600 counter parts for a special race during the 47th annual Clinton County Fair. Race time is 7:30. General admission for this race is by donation of a canned good to benefit the Clinton County Food Bank.

Friday August 2, the super late models return for their third appearance of the season in a $ 2,000 to win event. Many of central PA’s top drivers are expected. Also part of the program are the 270 and, 600 micro sprints, as well as the pro stocks. Gates open at 5 with racing at 7:30 PM.

In other news, the Pro Stock Firecracker 20 has been rescheduled for Friday August 16. The event pays the winner $500.

Clinton County Motor Speedway race fans were given 30 tickets to attend Saturday’s Pocono International Raceway activities courtesy of Sunoco Race Fuels, Bruce Insinger at Insinger Performance Products and Nick Loffredo of GFY Racing Supply during the July 26 racing program. Speedway management thanks all for their generous contribution to CCMS fans.

Complete information and updates are available at or the tracks Facebook page. Race day phone number is (570)-971-2126.

Clinton County Motor Speedway Race Results, July 26, 2019

Smith Excavating & Construction 25 Lap Limited Late Model Feature- 13 Entries

1. Matt Cochran, 2. Jim Yoder, 3. Andrew Yoder, 4. Dylan Yoder, 5. Danny Snyder, 6. Tim Krape, 7. Mike Smith, 8. Devin Hart, 9. Joe Lusk, 10. Kevin Probst, 11. Gary Mellott, 12. Tim Luben.

DNF- Joe Loffredo.

Lap Leaders- Krape, 1-4, Cochran, 5-25.

Heat Race Winners, Cochran, Andrew Yoder.

Gary’s Motor Mart/Laurel Highlands IMCA 25 Lap Sprint Car Feature- 15 Entries

1. Ken Duke, Jr., 2. Dylan Proctor, 3. Jake Frye, 4. Scott Ellerman, 5. Scott Lutz, 6. Reed Thompson, 7. Dakota Schweikart, 8. Jeff Weaver, 9. Dale Schweikart, 10. Tylor Cochran, 11. Ian Cumens, 12. Josh Fox, 13. John Walp, 14. Mike Murphy.

DNF- Dave Guss Jr.

Lap Leaders- Proctor, 1-21, Duke Jr., 22-25

Heat Race Winners- Cumens, Lutz

Millers Automotive Machine 15 Lap Pro Stock Feature-13 Entries

1. AJ Stroup, 2. Ray Rothfuss, 3. Noah Jensen, 4. Robert Tressler, 5. Kevin VanAmburg. 6. John Zayjac, 7. Nathan Stroup, 8. Chris Snyder, 9. John Schoch.

DNF- Rich Fye, Wayne Shaffer.

DNS-Brent Gordner.

DQ- Brad Myers

Lap Leaders- AJ Stroup, 1-15

Heat Race Winners- Myers, Jensen

15 Lap 600 Micro Sprint Feature- 11 Entries

1. Jeff Weaver, 2. Bobby Sanso, 3. Cody Hauck, 4. Jeff Gyurina, 5. Jomarie Gagne, 6. Derek Swartz, 7. Dariek Humenay, 8. Corey Brungard, 9. Dan Tripoli, 10. Don Werner.

DNF- Josh Beamer.

Lap Leaders- Swartz, 1, Sanso, 2-9, Weaver, 10-15.

Heat Race Winners- Weaver, Beamer

TJ Shooters 12 Lap FWD 4 Cylinder Feature- 13 Entries

1. Eric Boozel, 2. Adam Campbell, 3. Mike Campbell, 4. Tim Raup, 5. Cody Stover, 6. Charlie Stallman, 7. Matt Feagley, 8. Mike Brouse, 9. Tim Campbell, 10. Maddox Smith, 11. Mike Krepps, Jr., 12. Greg Brouse.

DNS- John Bower.

Lap Leader- Boozel, 1-12.

Heat Race Winners- Boozel, Mike Campbell